12 Bar Blues -GN Blog

The 12 bar blues is a structure in blues music where the primary (I) harmony of a key is rehashed for four measures, or bars, trailed by two bars of the fourth (IV), at that point two bars of the first. The last gathering of four bars starts with one bar of the fifth (V), one bar of the fourth and afterward settle with two additional bars of the first. It just uses the I – IV – V harmonies of a key and is exceptionally unmistakable in blues music, and is vigorously connected with guitar music by and large.

The Origins of the Blues and its Influence

The blues began, maybe after the finish of the American Civil War, however it isn’t clear, and the cadenced, call-and-reaction style of music emerged from African-Americans and African American populations in the profound south. The music and verses were work tunes, tunes that depicted one’s difficulties, and heartbreaks, particularly as an individual of color in the southern states and the nation over.

The blues music class created various incredible specialists, for example, B.B. Ruler, Muddy Waters, and that’s just the beginning. Indeed, even today, the blues assumes a major part in popular music and keeps on affecting the up and coming age of trying performers. As each guitar player may know, there comes a period in their realizing where they will in the long run, by one way or another, discover an interest in the blues, particularly the 12 bar blues.

What is the 12 Bar Blues?

The 12 bar blues is in fact a harmony movement, and has been utilized in music for longer than a century. To comprehend the structure, one should initially comprehend the rudiments of melodic key structures and scales.The 12 bar structure, as expressed above, just utilized the I – IV – V harmonies of a key. When talking about, for instance, the key of E, this alludes to the E significant key. So which notes are in E major? The notes of an E significant scale are underneath:

E F# G# A B C# D#

This implies that the E at the earliest reference point is the I harmony, the F# is the II harmony, and the G# is the III harmony, etc. Be that as it may, for the 12 bar blues, we just need the I – IV – V, which, on account of the E significant scale is: E – A – B.

OK, since we have the notes down, we need to sort out which harmonies to play. For harmonies in the key of E major, it goes this way:

Emaj – F#min – G#min – Amaj – Bmaj – C#min – D#min

Also, recollect that, we just need the I – IV – V harmonies, which are Emaj – Amaj – Bmaj.

Since we have the harmonies, we can place them into the 12 bar structure. So what is the structure at any rate? It would appear that this:

So I’m not catching this’ meaning? This implies that the 12 bar blues comprises of 12 bars, or gauges, and an incredible method to consider it is to separated the harmonies into 3 gatherings of 4 bars. In this way, to play the 12 bar blues in the key of E, we’ll play the I harmony multiple times, at that point the IV harmony twice, at that point back to the I two additional occasions, etc.

This is what the 12 bar blues will resemble in the key of E major:

Emaj – Emaj – Emaj – Emaj

Amaj – Amaj – Emaj – Emaj

Bmaj – Amaj – Emaj – Emaj

The incredible thing about this is that the 12 bar structure is inconsistent and you can embed any key you need into this recipe and it will be the equivalent. A few guitarists even prefer to switch things up a little and add a little turnaround at the finish to zest it up. Now and then the last bar is the V harmony. It’s dependent upon you to have some good times and trial!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.